top of page
  • Luna

Emotional pain IS EQUAL TO physical pain

A friend of mine said something that bothered me earlier this week. For ease of sake I’ll call the friend *Anna.


Anna has been going through a rough time and messaged me at around 3am. I was worried that she was in danger and suggested she wake up a family member in the house and tell them how she was feeling.

She phoned me back saying that she didn’t want to bother any of her family members.


That’s when it struck me!

Emotional pain and mental health awareness still have a very long way to go.

I asked her, that if she had broken her foot, and was awake at 3am in pain, would she wake up a family member to ask for help?

She said ‘yes’.

I told her that emotional pain is no different. Emotional pain should be treated the same way as physical pain.

"Just because emotional pain may not be visible does not mean that it doesn’t exist."

She went silent for a moment. She thanked me and hung up.

I got an update the next day from her telling me that she woke up a family member and spoke to them about how she was feeling and that it helped.

Mental Health should be validated the same way that physical pain is.

Let me know your thoughts!


P.S. You are safe. You are loved. You are enough.

You always were. You always will be.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page